Having created some content, you might want to reuse it. For example, you've created a course with content pages and questions, and now you want to make a quiz with the same questions. This help page will tell you how to achieve that.
To reuse a section in another course, in the navigation bar on the left choose Existing sections.
NOTE: In this case the section is shared, which means that if you delete any content/questions from the shared section, these items will be removed from all courses containing this section as well. Please keep this in mind when you delete something from shared sections.
Drag and drop sections you want to reuse to the corresponding column. Use the search function to quickly find needed sections. Click Done when ready.
The reused section is marked by a special indicator. If you click on it you will see where exactly the section is reused.
If you want to delete a section, click on the "More options" (three-dot ellipsis) button and choose Delete section.
You can delete a shared section from all courses or only from the current course.
There are two main advantages of the reuse option:
- You don’t duplicate your content, which means if you change something either in the original section or in the reused one, the change will apply to both of them. Less maintenance!
- When you create a new course with some reused sections from another course and publish it (like an assessment course with the reused section containing questions from the original simple course), you will get a new publication link. This means that you can publish both courses next to each other.