Skip to main content

Publish your course via a Direct link in Easygenerator

Share your courses with your learners in no time with our Direct link option.

Written by María Isabel Zuleta Zapata

The easiest and quickest way to publish and share a course is via a Direct link. Your learners will be able to access it directly on their mobile phone, tablet, or computer.

How to publish the course via a Direct link

Follow the steps below to publish your course via the Direct link:

  1. Click on the Publish button at the top right corner of your course

  2. Go to the Direct link tab

  3. Click on the Generate button.

After generating the Direct link, you can:

  • Copy the link by clicking on it, or on the Copy button at the right

  • Click on the QR code icon located on the right side of the link to generate the respective QR code.

    • And you can download the code in PNG format for sharing, or copy it to your clipboard to paste it directly.

  • Copy the embedding code to embed your course into a website by clicking on the arrow at the right side of the link.

  • Click Open link ↗ in the lower right corner of the link box to take the course as a learner.

  • Change the link status to Active or Inactive:

    • Active: Your course is visible and accessible to learners. Anyone with the link can open and view it.

    • Inactive: Your course is hidden from learners. Anyone with the link will see a message that the course is unavailable.

  • Add a password to the link for extra security.

  • Restrict access to the courses to only invited learners and manage the invites.

  • Check the link settings directly to require login or allow Skip login for your learners.

You will also find here the SSO link, if enabled, by clicking on the arrow at the right side of the link:

Update your course after publishing

If you need to make edits to the course after publishing, please make sure to click on the Update now button for the changes to be applied correctly. The Direct link will remain the same, so you don't need to re-share it with the learners.

When you update the course, Easygenerator tries to keep the progress of learners who are already taking it, so they can continue where they left off instead of starting over.

If your changes are important enough that learners in progress must go through the course again, you can restart them for this update.

Follow the steps below to update your course:

  1. Make your changes in the course.

  2. Click on the Publish button at the top right corner of your course.

  3. On the Direct link tab, you will see the message "You've made changes to this course. Update the link so your learners see the latest version".

  4. (Optional) Tick Restart learners in progress if learners who have started the course must begin again, for example if your course has a time limit or a limited number of attempts, or you made major changes.

  5. Click on the Update now button.

About re-starting learner's progress

Restart learners in progress only applies to the update you are publishing. It is unticked every time you open Publish, so tick it again whenever you want to restart learners on a future update.

Learners only restart when your update includes changes that affect learners in progress, such as adding or deleting a page or a section. If you only edited text, for example to fix a typo, learners keep their progress even if the option is ticked.

Important:

In cases where the update changes the course structure or navigation, learner's progress will need to be restarted, even if Restart learners in progress is unticked, such as:

  • When you enabled or disabled Restrict navigation.

  • When you enabled/disabled the Question pool or changed its settings.

  • When you change the Login settings: switch from Require login to Skip login or vice-versa.

  • When the learner has skipped two or more published versions of the course

You can find the list of changes that can affect learners' progress attached below.

Did this answer your question?